gluten free creatine

Is Creatine Gluten Free?

Stayfitcentral Looks at the Ingredients of Creatine

gluten free creatine

Is creatine gluten free? We get that question more than I would’ve ever guessed when our site launched. The reason we’re asked so often is that gluten free eating has recently become a way of life for many people as they learn it’s better for their health to avoid this type of protein.

  
While I don’t really eat it, mainly because I’m avoiding carb-rich foods like bread and pasta which also contain gluten, I never really gave much thought as to whether it’s in supplements like creatine. I know it is often found in protein bars and powders and multivitamins but I never considered whether it may also be in the creatine I take daily.

  
I’m glad I did, knowing whether creatine does or does not contain gluten will ease your, and my mind and help you make an informed purchase.

  

The Answer – Creatine Monohydrate Powder Is Gluten Free

After a bit of online research and a few phone calls I got an answer. Plain creatine monohydrate powder is gluten free. It’s made in a laboratory setting using man-made ingredients. No gluten or gluten containing foods are ever used.

  
I confirmed this by calling Betancourt Nutrition, whose creatine powder we sell, and they tell me that their product is in fact gluten free. I told them to consider putting it on their label to ease concerned customers minds.

  
My guess is that the same goes for every plain (i.e. no other ingredients) creatine monohydrate supplement on the market. Unless, of course it’s somehow cross contaminated in the manufacturing process.

  
That’s something you don’t have to worry about with a product like Betancourt Micronized Creatine Monohydrate powder. They make all of their creatine powder in their own facility in Florida and I heard straight from them that doesn’t have any gluten.

  

Read the Igredients

Keep in mind this is only for supplements that don’t contain anything but creatine monohydrate on their label. Adding in protein, carbs, and other ingredients, flavors, etc. may mean that the supplement with creatine also contains gluten.

  
Check every label to be sure. If you’re still unsure, contact us and we’ll check for you. Even if we don’t sell the product.

  
Below are some ingredients commonly used in nutritional supplements that you want to look for when examining a supplement for gluten contamination.
 

  • Artificial flavors and colors
  • Dextrin
  • Food glaze
  • Food starch
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Maltodextrin
  • MSG
  • Natural flavors
  • Textured plant protein
  • Wheat germ

 
best creatine supplement

Which Gluten Free Creatine Is Best?

Our choice is Betancourt Nutrition Micronized Creatine Monohydrate. This is because there’s nothing but pure creatine powder in every scoop. Like I wrote above, it’s made in Bentancourt’s own facilities in Florida and tested for purity before and after being packaging.

  
I don’t know of another creatine monohydrate on the market that can make this claim. Many products use creatine from China which may or may not have been tested for impurities and/or gluten.

  
Another reason to choose Betancourt Micronized Creatine are that it’s milled into a very fine powder. This ‘micronization’ process helps it dissolve better and stay that way until you drink it all. This way none of the creatine you drink is left undissolved in your glass.

  
Every can has 100 servings. This is enough for 100 servings, which will last between 2-3 months, depending on how much and how often you take it.

Click here to buy.

  

Conclusion – Gluten Free Creatine

So, to sum everything up, creatine monohydrate that’s made in a lab like the supplement above is gluten free. Just to be safe, you should always check for yourself. Like every supplement you take, make sure you speak with your doctor about it before using.